Down On the West Coast

California has the best weather on the planet. Yes, I am a Cali native and growing up here gives me automatic bias but I have travelled to a few parts of the world and what that has taught me is: you can’t beat California for weather. Mostly sunny year around, mild winters and a place where you can try literally any outdoor sport you can think of.  I feel blessed to have been able to call this place home for the past 27 years but to be honest, I do day dream about leaving it all behind and hopping a train to the East Coast.

After High School Graduation, my aunt took my cousins and I to New York City for the first time.  I instantly fell in love with the concrete jungle and every way it was different from laid back California.  It’s difficult to put into words the way New York engulfs you in the rapid buzz of the city.  The energy coming from it’s millions of inhabitants and tourists is palpable.  The vibration from the hustle of every day life was shocking and exhilarating; I couldn’t get enough of it. Los Angeles has it’s sky scrapers but I had never see so many reaching high to the heavens.  It was a stark contrast to the “Socal so chill” world I come from.  My love affair with  Manhattan had begun.

Since then I have been back to NYC 4 times.  Once during every season so I might get a better understanding of life in the big city.  My favorite by far is Fall. My last trip this past November was special, it was the first time I had gone tot the city with my boyfriend.  He and I have been together for 3 years.  We often look at each other and say ” man I can’t believe I found another weirdo to love.”  He fell in love with the city just as I knew he would.  Watching him take in the grandeur of NYC was amazing because it made me feel like it was my first time again.

Washington Square Park in the fall #nyc #newyorkcity #vsco #citylove

A post shared by Jade Arvizu (@jaybzoo) on

Now that we are back in good ol’ Cali, we find ourselves missing the city.  From time to time, we talk about moving there after he gets his BA and I get my MA.  We’ve come to the point where we agree that we must leave California, if only for a year or so to spread our wings and culture ourselves a bit more.  The city calls to part of me, the part that longs for excitement and adversity.  I can’t think of anything more adverse than a Cali girl trying to survive her first New York winter.  Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

